Rounds and Quarters

Friday, October 15, 2010

Ana Ivanovic's Controversial Bathroom Break

Due to an ill-timed bathroom break Ana Ivanovik lose the second game of her match in Austria against Barbora Zahlavova Strycova.

Ivanovic won her serve in the match's first game and then asked the chair umpire if she could take a bathroom break. When her request was denied, Ivanovic pleaded but was told that even though there was a change of sides, she wouldn't be allowed to go before Strycova served. The chair umpire said she'd have to go on her own time. To Ivanovic, that meant at that instant. She walked off the court and into the player's locker room. When she emerged a few minutes later, Ivanovic learned that she had been docked four points during her absence, one for every 20 seconds she went over the time limit. She protested, saying she thought she had permission, but the umpire's ruling stood.

This incident actually caught a stir on the web. Many people symphatize with Miss Ivanovic side and got furious on the umpire. On the other hand the umpire have his good reasons since the game is an official one. But in case of emergency does the rule stand rigid and cannot take considerations? Well, if in case there will be a fire on a certain part of the stadium where the tennis match is happening, will the game be stopped or will the umpire adhere to the rules and let the game continue? Just a thought.

Share this post!

Digg Technorati Stumbleupon Reddit Facebook Twitter


Anonymous said...

Oh my! My sympathy goes to Ana Ivanovic, indeed the umpire is only following the rules of the rules. But in this time of emergency they must be considerate to the players and besides, she asks for permission properly. That was really strict huh?!

Post a Comment

Any comments as long as they are not off topic and spam are allowed... Have a great and sporty day ahead guys..:)